Our blog articles are translated to English by machine and may not always be accurate - sorry for that.

If you understand German, we recommend to switch to the German version.

business video call with no pants

4 tips for team building in distributed remote teams

Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on email
“Remote teams”, ie distributed teams, are the trend. So how do you deal with coordination and management in teams spread over several locations?

So-called “remote teams”, meaning distributed teams that work together from different locations and maybe even different time zones, are in vogue: Many companies want to take advantage of the opportunity to attract talent for their company worldwide or to take advantage of local labor cost advantages. Recent studies show that employees appreciate to have at least the opportunity to work remotely from home or from co-working spaces.

This trend also brings new challenges for teams. So how do you deal with coordination and management in teams spread over several locations?

The good news in advance:

Google's internal study found that distributed remote teams can in principle be just as successful as teams in the same location. At the same time, Google shares their best practices in a Playbook . There are a number of things to consider for communication and productivity to work in the remote team. Interestingly enough, psychological factors like psychological safety, team cohesion and trust play an important role for remote teams as well.

Here are our tips on how your remote team can develop their potential:

Tip 1: Remote-first means over-communicating

Communication has to be rethought in remote teams. Managers are probably already familiar with the concept of over-communication, because many management readings suggest that the corporate strategy cannot be "over-communicated". This concept of over-communicating is also relevant for remote teams.

Example: A team is generally located at one location and only a few team members work remotely from somewhere else. A two-tier society threatens here, which can undermine the team spirit: A substantial part of the communication takes place face-to-face in the office and as a remote team member you regularly receive last information. Namely, only when the next video call (e.g. Daily or Weekly) is due or someone writes this information down (e.g. via email, Slack, Confluence, Trello / Jira tickets and so on).

Therefore the recommendation: A large part of the formal as well as informal communication should be proactively stored online for everyone according to the rule of thumb "Remote First". Even if it sometimes feels as if the information is already known anyway, you should make the effort to digitally record every decision in order to make the derivation comprehensible to third parties.

Once again in remote teams, there is no overcommunication. And even if: It's worth it!

Tip 2: adapted routines in everyday life

In remote teams in particular, as a team member, manager or Scrum Master, you have to put great emphasis on creating a framework for regular exchange. This does not mean a monthly update, but a much closer exchange that makes the team feeling possible. 

A best practice that, in our experience, works well: simply map Dailys online in text form. Every day, every team member starts writing their most important topics and time availability for the day in a chat or slack channel. This makes it transparent for everyone who is currently working on what. Nevertheless, everyone has the freedom not to have to dial into a video conference for the Daily at 9:00 am. This form of daily is particularly advantageous for different time zones.

The daily in chat format should, for example, be supplemented with a weekly in video call format. So there is a round in which all team members can see each other (at least digitally). This video call should deliberately not degenerate into a formal status update, because it would then have no effect on team building. Maybe even use the appointment for a lunch together to underline the informal character & #8211; yes, a lunch together in front of the screen is better than no lunch together. This lunch can then be used with open exchange formats such as “Brown bag”/“Lunch & Learn" get connected.

Tip 3: Plan room for informal exchange with Check-Ins & Co.

The opportunities for informal exchange, such as in the kitchen at the coffee machine, at the football table, etc., do not exist with distributed remote teams. In order to create the necessary trust between team members from different locations, space must be actively given. This way, team members can get to know each other on a human level and get closer.

In all efforts for efficient meetings, you should therefore not refrain from reserving at least the first 5 minutes for a casual exchange as an "icebreaker" before starting with the actual topic of the meeting. 

Depending on the group, in addition to the open exchange, a check-in can also be offered as best practice, in which everyone has their say in turn. Whoever comes last in the appointment starts with the check-in. The following questions may arise for the check-in round:

  • On a scale from 1 (= miserable) to 10 (= super) how are you doing right now? Why?
  • What would have to happen to be at 10 tonight?

Answering these questions can also apply to private matters - that should be left to everyone. Of course, you can vary the check-in questions from meeting to meeting. It might be important to point out that the questions should not become too personal if this could be uncomfortable for individual team members.

A nice example that underlines the importance: A few weeks ago we were at a customer's retro and it turned out that a person who answered the check-in scale with 3 did not sleep all night and was plagued by a headache was. This information is of course crucial in order to be able to classify and consider the behavior of the person.

Tip 4: Team building through retrospectives as best practice

This is probably the most important tip for everyone retrospectives (or “Retros” for short) in their remote teams. Because especially when a large part of the communication takes place in digital text form, there is an increased risk of misunderstandings, which can endanger trust and team spirit.

This risk from the lack of face-to-face communication cannot be avoided. It is therefore all the more important to create a framework in which each team member has the opportunity to place his observations and perceptions about the collaboration, to compare them in the team and to mitigate conflict potential. The retrospective has become an established best practice for this.

An example for clarification

Tom made a proposal to solve a technical problem in a Jira ticket (method A). Erwin read the proposal, agreed with another colleague and came to the conclusion that method B would be more sensible as an alternative solution and replied briefly and crisply in the Jira ticket "We have now done it according to method B." Tom has read the message and wonders if his suggestion was even seriously discussed. Since the short answer bothers him, he wants to express his displeasure about it in the upcoming retro. 

When Erwin hears about it in the Retro, he is surprised and explains that the proposal was very seriously discussed, briefly explains the reasons for it and apologizes that he did not coordinate the procedure with Tom in advance. Tom is satisfied and can understand the decision. The learning: In the near future we should either pick up the listener when making such decisions, or at least record the course of the discussion digitally.

In fact, many conflicts or dissatisfactions are not much more complex than this simple example and all that is needed for prevention is an open feedback culture and the space to address the issues.

Remote rocks!

In conclusion, it can be said that remote teams are not fundamentally less successful than on-site teams. Team building and trust, in particular, require increased value and existing routines and habits to be adapted.
Finally, you have to take into account the higher risk of misunderstandings. From our point of view, the introduction of team retrospectives seems inevitable in distributed remote teams. You can find out whether our retro tool can help here.

To the point

More articles

Want to get started?

Test team retros with Echometer for free & drive agile work in your organization.

Sogenannte “Remote-Teams”, also verteilte Teams, die von unterschiedlichen Standorten und vielleicht sogar unterschiedlichen Zeitzonen zusammenarbeiten, liegen im Trend: Viele Unternehmen möchten die Chance nutzen, weltweit Talente für ihr Unternehmen zu gewinnen oder lokale Lohnkostenvorteile zu nutzen. Aktuelle Studien zeigen außerdem, dass auch Arbeitnehmer gerne zumindest die Möglichkeit haben möchten, remote von zu Hause oder von Co-Working-Spaces aus arbeiten zu können.

Dieser Trend bringt für Teams aber auch neue Herausforderungen mit sich. Wie geht man also in der Koordination und dem Management bei über mehrere Standorte verteilten Teams um?

Die gute Nachricht vorab:

Google hat in einer internen Studie herausgefunden, dass verteilte Remote-Teams prinzipiell genauso erfolgreich sein können wie Teams am gleichen Standort. Gleichzeitig hat Google seine Best Practices in einem englischsprachigen Playbook geteilt. Damit die Kommunikation und Produktivität im Remote-Team funktioniert, gibt es einiges zu beachten. Interessanterweise spielen auch hier wieder psychologische Faktoren wie die psychologische Sicherheit, das Teamgefühl und das Vertrauen eine wichtige Rolle.

Das sind unsere Tipps, wie dein Remote-Team sein Potenzial entfalten kann:

Tipp 1: Remote-first heißt Überkommunizieren

Kommunikation muss in Remote-Teams neu gedacht werden. Manager kennen den Begriff des Überkommunizierens wahrscheinlich bereits, denn viele Managementlektüren legen nahe, dass man die Unternehmensstrategie nicht zu häufig kommunizieren kann. Dieses Konzept des Überkommunizierens ist auch für Remote-Teams relevant.

Beispiel: Ein Team sitzt grundsätzlich an einem Standort und nur einige wenige Teammitglieder arbeiten remote von woanders. Hier droht eine Zweiklassengesellschaft, die das Teamgefühl untergraben kann: Ein wesentlicher Teil der Kommunikation findet face-to-face im Büro statt und als Remote-Teammitglied bekommt man Informationen regelmäßig als letztes. Nämlich erst, wenn der nächste Videocall (z.B. Daily oder Weekly) ansteht oder jemand diese Information schriftlich festhält (z.B. via E-Mail, Slack, Confluence, Trello-/ Jira-Tickets und so weiter).

Deswegen die Empfehlung: Ein Großteil der formellen als auch informellen Kommunikation sollte nach der Faustregel “Remote-First” proaktiv für alle online sichtbar hinterlegt werden. Auch wenn es es sich manchmal so anfühlen wird, als ob die Information doch mittlerweile ohnehin bekannt sei, sollte man sich die Mühe machen, jede Entscheidung auch digital ausführlich festzuhalten, um die Herleitung für Dritte nachvollziehbar zu machen.

In Remote-Teams gilt einmal mehr: Overcommunication gibt es nicht. Und selbst wenn: Sie lohnt sich!

Tipp 2: Angepasste Routinen im Alltag

Gerade in Remote-Teams muss man als Teammitglied, Führungskraft oder Scrum-Master großen Wert darauf legen, einen Rahmen für regelmäßigen Austausch zu schaffen. Damit ist nicht ein monatliches Update gemeint, sondern ein viel engerer Austausch, der das Teamgefühl erst möglich macht. 

Ein Best Practice, dass unserer Erfahrung nach gut funktioniert: Dailys einfach Online in Textform abbilden. Jeden Tag startet jedes Teammitglied also damit, seine wichtigsten Themen sowie zeitliche Verfügbarkeiten für den Tag in einen Chat oder Slack-Channel zu schreiben. So ist für jeden transparent, wer gerade woran arbeitet. Trotzdem bleibt so allen der Freiraum, sich nicht um Punkt 9:00 in eine Videokonferenz zum Daily einwählen zu müssen. Gerade bei unterschiedlichen Zeitzonen ist diese Form des Dailys vorteilhaft.

Das Daily im Chatformat sollte man zum Beispiel mit einem Weekly im Videocall-Format ergänzen. So gibt es eine Runde, in der sich alle Teammitglieder auch (zumindest digital) sehen können. Dieser Videocall sollte bewusst nicht zu einem formalen Status-Update verkommen, weil er dann seine Wirkung zum Teambuilding verfehlen würde. Nutzt den Termin vielleicht sogar für ein gemeinsames Mittagessen, um den informellen Charakter zu unterstreichen – ja, ein gemeinsames Mittagessen vor dem Bildschirm ist besser als kein gemeinsames Mittagessen. Dieses Mittagessen kann dann mit offenen Austauschformate wie “Brown Bag” / “Lunch & Learn” verbunden werden.

Tipp 3: Mit Check-Ins & Co. Raum für informellen Austausch einplanen

Die Gelegenheiten zum informellen Austausch wie beispielsweise in der Küche am Kaffeeautomaten, am Kickertisch & Co. fallen bei verteilten Remote-Teams weg. Um das nötige Vertrauen zwischen den Teammitgliedern verschiedener Standorte zu schaffen, muss also aktiv Raum gegeben werden. So können die Teammitglieder sich auch auf menschlicher Ebene kennenlernen und näherkommen.

Bei allen Bemühungen um effiziente Meetings, sollte deshalb nicht darauf verzichtet werden zumindest die ersten 5 Minuten für einen lockeren Austausch als “Eisbrecher” zu reservieren, bevor man mit dem eigentlichen Thema des Meetings startet. 

Je nach Runde, kann sich neben dem offenen Austausch auch ein Check-In als Best Practice anbieten, bei dem jeder reihum zu Worte kommt. Wer als letztes in den Termin kommt, fängt mit dem Check-In an. Folgende Fragen können sich für die Check-In-Runde anbieten:

  • Auf einer Skala von 1 (=miserabel) bis 10 (=super) wie geht’s dir gerade? Warum?
  • Was müsste passieren, damit du heute abend bei einer 10 bist?

Die Beantwortung dieser Fragen kann sich auch auf private Dinge beziehen – das sollte jedem überlassen werden. Natürlich kann man die Check-In-Fragen von Meeting zu Meeting variieren. Wichtig wäre vielleicht der Hinweis, dass die Fragen nicht zu persönlich werden sollten, falls das für einzelne Teammitglieder unangenehm sein könnte.

Ein schönes Beispiel, was die Wichtigkeit unterstreicht: Vor einigen Wochen waren wir bei der Retro eines Kunden und es kam raus, dass eine Person, die die Check-In-Skala mit 3 beantwortet hat, die ganze Nacht nicht geschlafen hat und von Kopfschmerzen geplagt war. Diese Information ist natürlich entscheidend, um das Verhalten der Person einordnen und berücksichtigen zu können.

Tipp 4: Teambuilding durch Retrospektiven als Best Practice

Dies ist wahrscheinlich der wichtigste Tipp für alle, die Retrospektiven (oder kurz “Retros”) in ihren Remote-Teams noch nicht nutzen. Denn gerade, wenn ein Großteil der Kommunikation in digitaler Textform stattfindet, besteht ein erhöhtes Risiko für Missverständnisse, die das Vertrauen und Teamgefühl gefährden können.

Dieses Risiko durch die fehlende Face-to-Face-Kommunikation lässt sich nicht vermeiden. Umso wichtiger ist es, einen Rahmen zu schaffen, in dem jedes Teammitglied die Möglichkeit hat, seine Beobachtungen und Wahrnehmungen zur Zusammenarbeit zu platzieren, im Team abzugleichen und Konfliktpotenziale damit zu entschärfen. Die Retrospektive ist hierfür ein etabliertes Best Practice geworden.

Ein Beispiel zur Verdeutlichung

Tom hat in einem Jira-Ticket einen Vorschlag zur Lösung eines technischen Problems gemacht (Methode A). Erwin hat den Vorschlag gelesen, mit einem anderen Kollegen abgestimmt und kam zu dem Ergebnis, dass Methode B als alternativer Lösungsweg sinnvoller wäre und antwortet in dem Jira-Ticket kurz und knackig “Wir haben es jetzt doch nach Methode B gemacht.”. Tom hat die Nachricht gelesen und fragt sich, ob sein Vorschlag überhaupt ernsthaft diskutiert wurde. Da ihn die kurze Antwort stört, will er seinen Unmut darüber in der kommenden Retro zur Sprache bringen. 

Als Erwin davon in der Retro hört, ist er verwundert und erläutert, dass der Vorschlag sehr wohl ernsthaft diskutiert wurde, erläutert kurz die Gründe dafür und entschuldigt sich, dass er das Vorgehen nicht im Vorfeld mit Tom abgestimmt hat. Tom ist zufrieden und kann die Entscheidung nachvollziehen. Das Learning: Demnächst sollten wir bei solchen Entscheidungen entweder zum Hörer greifen, oder die Diskussionsverläufe zumindest auch digital festhalten.

Tatsächlich sind viele Konflikte oder Unzufriedenheiten nicht viel komplexer als dieses simple Beispiel und alles was es zur Prävention braucht, ist eine offene Feedbackkultur und den Raum, um die Punkte anzusprechen.

Remote rocks!

Als Fazit lässt sich festhalten, dass Remote-Teams nicht grundsätzlich weniger erfolgreich wären als Vor-Ort-Teams. Gerade auf das Teambuilding und das Vertrauen muss gesteigerter Wert gelegt und bestehende Routinen und Gewohnheiten angepasst werden.
Zu guter Letzt muss man dem höheren Risiko für Missverständnisse Rechnung tragen. Die Einführung von Team-Retrospektiven scheint hier aus unserer Sicht in verteilten Remote-Teams unausweichlich. Ob unser Retro-Tool da helfen kann, erfahrt ihr hier.

Kategorien: Uncategorized

Newsletter abonnieren


de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch