Our blog articles are translated to English by machine and may not always be accurate - sorry for that.

If you understand German, we recommend to switch to the German version.

construction

The positive culture of mistakes: learning from mistakes & #8211; just a myth?

Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on email

Some things only happen once in a lifetime. A child who touches the hot stove with the palm of his hand will probably not make this mistake again. Literally the misjudgment burns in and the child learns not to trust the stove. 

So you learn from mistakes & #8211; Completely logical in everyday psychology and even a well-known saying. Nevertheless, the situation with the hot hob cannot really be transferred to the work context. What is the difference between a burn and a manager's negative feedback? And why does science say that learning from mistakes is not that easy?

Why introduce a positive error culture?

It actually seems very simple: We react more strongly to negative stimuli than to positive ones. They enable us to process information more deeply, which means that the information is memorized more quickly, remains stored longer and can be accessed more easily (Bless & Fiedler, 2006; Puig & Szpunar, 2017). This has to do with errors in that they mostly cause negative feedback, which is generally a negative stimulus. 

Let's stick to the example with the hob. The child touches the hot plate and feels pain. This pain is negative feedback and triggers information processing. If the child sees the hob again a few days later, the information that the hob may be hot is called up.

Now, however, the pain of the burn and the negative criticism of a manager differ. This was recently investigated by two women scientists from the United States. They looked at the conditions under which errors actually lead to learning and found something astonishing: If a negative error is followed by negative feedback, the probability that we will learn from this error is very low (Eskreis-Winkler & Fishbach, 2019). However, if positive feedback follows correct answers, we learn better. In concrete terms, this means that positive criticism regarding one's own work means more than negative criticism. 

Why do we react to negative criticism with reactance, i.e. with resistance and defiance? This is because negative criticism is perceived as a threat to self-worth and represents an attack on the ego. The resulting thoughts of failure ultimately lead to the feeling that one's own goals are unattainable. 

And what does goal theory say about the motivation to achieve unattainable goals? Exactly & #8211; she's not there. For dealing with mistakes in the team, these findings clearly mean that criticism must not endanger self-worth! So the basic mood should be from one Atmosphere of psychological security be shaped so that a positive culture of error arises and criticism does not hit a negative breeding ground.

How we implement a positive error culture

No feedback is definitely not a solution. So how do we make sure that feedback is used constructively and that the general mood in the team promotes positive feedback? If you are interested in the answers, please read our article on error culture, in which we describe detailed steps for developing a positive error culture. The short version is: The handling of errors has to be changed so that team members dare to make mistakes transparent right from the start. 

Among other things, errors in retros can be addressed. If you can get the team members to talk openly about their mistakes, the rest of the team can actually learn from them. So learning from mistakes is possible! 

And here's the highlight: If another person receives feedback about a mistake made and we are aware of it, this does not represent a risk to our self-esteem (Eskreis-Winkler & Fishbach, 2019). We process the feedback and take it with us for our own work. In a perfect error culture, the team talks openly about challenges and helps each other to deal with these challenges.

A positive culture of error in your retrospectives? & #8211; This is possible with the retro tool from Echometer!

First measures towards a positive error culture 

The decisive factor in whether we learn from mistakes is how we deal with them. If we can make sure that mistakes do not directly encounter negative criticism that attacks our ego, we can learn from experience. 

For that to work, of course we have to do it first set meaningful goals to have. Our environment must also be designed so that the implementation and dynamic adjustment of these goals is possible and promoted by the team members. Just try that Retro tool from Echometer and see for yourself what the introduction of a positive error culture can achieve!

To the point

More articles

Want to get started?

Test team retros with Echometer for free & drive agile work in your organization.

Manche Dinge passieren einem nur einmal im Leben. Ein Kind, das mit der flachen Hand auf die heiße Herdplatte fasst, macht diesen Fehler vermutlich nicht noch einmal. Wortwörtlich brennt sich die Fehleinschätzung ein und das Kind lernt, der Herdplatte nicht zu vertrauen. 

Aus Fehlern lernt man also – alltagspsychologisch völlig logisch und sogar ein bekanntes Sprichwort. Trotzdem lässt sich die Situation mit der heißen Herdplatte nicht wirklich auf den Arbeitskontext übertragen. Was ist der Unterschied zwischen einer Verbrennung und dem negativen Feedback eines Vorgesetzten? Und warum sagt die Wissenschaft, dass das Lernen aus Fehlern gar nicht so einfach ist?

Warum eine positive Fehlerkultur einführen?

Eigentlich erscheint es ganz einfach: Auf negative Reize reagieren wir stärker als auf positive. Sie ermöglichen uns eine tiefere Informationsverarbeitung, was bedeutet, dass die Informationen schneller eingeprägt werden, länger gespeichert bleiben und einfacher abgerufen werden können (Bless & Fiedler, 2006; Puig & Szpunar, 2017). Mit Fehlern hat das insofern zu tun, als dass sie meistens negatives Feedback verursachen, welches allgemein einen negativen Reiz darstellt. 

Bleiben wir bei dem Beispiel mit der Herdplatte. Das Kind berührt die heiße Platte und verspürt Schmerz. Dieser Schmerz ist ein negatives Feedback und stößt die Informationsverarbeitung an. Sieht das Kind die Herdplatte ein paar Tage später wieder, wird die Information, dass die Platte heiß sein könnte, abgerufen.

Nun unterscheiden sich allerdings der Schmerz der Verbrennung und die negative Kritik einer Führungskraft. Dies untersuchten kürzlich zwei Wissenschaftlerinnen aus den USA. Sie schauten sich an, unter welchen Bedingungen Fehler tatsächlich zu Lernen führen und fanden Erstaunliches: Wenn auf einen gemachten Fehler ein negatives Feedback folgt ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass wir aus diesem Fehler lernen sehr gering (Eskreis-Winkler & Fishbach, 2019). Folgt jedoch ein positives Feedback auf richtige Antworten, lernen wir besser. Konkret bedeutet das, dass aus positiver Kritik bezüglich der eigenen Arbeit mehr mitgenommen wird, als aus negativer Kritik. 

Warum reagieren wir auf negative Kritik mit Reaktanz, also mit Widerstand und Trotz? Das liegt daran, dass negative Kritik als selbstwertgefährdend wahrgenommen wird und einen Angriff auf das Ego darstellt. Die entstehenden Versagensgedanken führen letztlich zu dem Gefühl, die eigenen Ziele seien unerreichbar. 

Und was sagt die Zielsetzungstheorie über die Motivation unerreichbare Ziele zu erreichen? Genau – sie ist nicht da. Für den Umgang mit Fehlern im Team bedeuten diese Erkenntnisse ganz klar, dass Kritik keine Gefährdung des Selbstwerts darstellen darf! Die grundlegende Stimmung sollte also von einer Atmosphäre psychologischer Sicherheit geprägt sein, sodass eine positive Fehlerkultur entsteht und Kritik nicht auf einen negativen Nährboden trifft.

Wie wir eine positive Fehlerkultur einführen

Kein Feedback ist definitiv auch keine Lösung. Wie schaffen wir es also, dass Feedback konstruktiv zum Einsatz kommt und die allgemeine Stimmung im Team positives Feedback fördert? Wenn euch die Antworten darauf interessieren, lest doch mal in unseren Artikel zur Fehlerkultur rein, in dem wir ausführliche Schritte zur Entwicklung einer positiven Fehlerkultur beschreiben. Die Kurzfassung lautet: Der Umgang mit Fehlern muss verändert werden, sodass sich Teammitglieder von Anfang an trauen, Fehler transparent zu machen. 

Unter anderem können Fehler in Retros angesprochen werden. Schafft man es, dass die Teammitglieder offen über ihre Fehler reden, kann der Rest vom Team tatsächlich daraus lernen. Ein Lernen aus Fehlern ist also doch möglich! 

Und hier der Clou: Erhält eine andere Person Feedback über einen gemachten Fehler und wir bekommen dies mit, stellt das für uns keine Selbstwertgefährdung dar (Eskreis-Winkler & Fishbach, 2019). Wir verarbeiten das Feedback und nehmen es für unsere eigene Arbeit mit. In einer perfekten Fehlerkultur redet das Team also offen über Herausforderungen und hilft sich damit gegenseitig mit diesen Herausforderungen umzugehen.

Eine positive Fehlerkultur in euren Retrospektiven? – Das geht mit dem Retro-Tool von Echometer!

Erste Maßnahmen in Richtung einer positiven Fehlerkultur 

Entscheidend dafür, ob wir aus Fehlern lernen ist also der Umgang mit ihnen. Schaffen wir es, dass Fehler nicht direkt auf negative Kritik stoßen, die unser Ego angreift, können wir aus gemachten Erfahrungen lernen. 

Damit das funktioniert, müssen wir natürlich zunächst sinnvolle Ziele gesetzt haben. Unser Umfeld muss außerdem so gestaltet sein, dass die Umsetzung und dynamische Anpassung dieser Ziele möglich ist und durch die Teammitglieder gefördert werden. Probiert doch einmal das Retro-Tool von Echometer aus und überzeugt euch selbst davon, was die Einführung einer positiven Fehlerkultur bewirken kann!

Kategorien: Uncategorized

Newsletter abonnieren


de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch