Our blog articles are translated to English by machine and may not always be accurate - sorry for that.

If you understand German, we recommend to switch to the German version.

holger koschek agile coach 2

Experience report - remote agile coaching with Holger

Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on email

Experience report - the format

How is Echometer actually used in practice? And by whom? We want to answer these questions in a series of Echometer reviews. We interview some of our users for you.

Let's get started with Holger Koschek's Echometer experience report. Holger is an agile coach and uses Echometer among other things for his customer Frontastic - a “Remote Native Company”.

 

The interview partner

Jean: Holger, we are pleased that you are part of this format! Introduce yourself for our readers.

Holger: Hi! I am Holger Koschek. As a freelance consultant, trainer and coach, I work with people in various roles to advance their projects and organizations. Progress is my stated goal, because only those who advance can make a difference. My agile basic attitude helps me to find the suitable starting points for change. The solution is therefore not automatically called Agile, Scrum or Kanban.

I often accompany companies that want to rethink and revise their collaboration model in order to increase their added value for customers. This is how I met Thomas Gottheil. At the beginning of the year Thomas asked me to support his new company Frontastic as an agile coach. Frontastic is a “remote-native company”: All colleagues work in Europe from home. Under normal circumstances, however, they meet personally at least once a quarter to strengthen social ties.

 

Experience with agile work

Jean: How long has agile work been important to you?

Holger: "Officially" since 2008 - I was appointed a Certified Scrum Master. I also worked in an interdisciplinary, focused and prioritized manner beforehand. For me, agile work means more than the targeted application of agile methods. It is a way of thinking and working that accepts dynamics as a normal case and ensures through a good mix of structure, flexibility and discipline that I remain able to act in such dynamic situations.

Jean: And which teams do you work with exactly?

Holger: The teams with whom I have worked and are currently working could not be more different: from corporation to startup, from management to processing, from software product to business model, from common project rooms to widely distributed in the home office, from agile beginners to old hands, from aircraft maintenance to publishers.

Despite all the differences, there are at least two main similarities: The teams appreciate the interdisciplinary work without exception. And they are used to questioning their ways of working in retrospectives and adapting them if necessary.

I am currently working in parallel for several customers with different intensities as an external agile coach.

 

Working remotely as an agile coach during Corona

Jean: What has Corona changed for your work as an agile coach?

Holger: Amazingly, not much. My teams managed to quickly switch their collaboration from “on-site” to “remote”. At Frontastic, there was no need to adapt the way of working, as the company works as “remote-native”.

At the beginning I was skeptical whether I would be able to fulfill my role well even if I had no direct contact with people. The skepticism has now evaporated. Although I have never met some Frontastic colleagues personally, a trusting collaboration is possible. This is mainly due to the respectful interaction with each other, but also to the common goals.

Jean: How did you initially react to the new circumstances? What have you set out to do?

Holger: It quickly became clear to us that we had to use even more care when working together. So one of my customers created a collection of principles and tips for online meetings. Since I can no longer see directly who is available for a spontaneous conversation, the electronic calendar and the status in the various communication tools must be well maintained. Instead of coordinating appointments in long mail threads, it is more efficient, for example, to use the "Propose new appointment" function in the electronic calendar. Not all team members knew this function. When using tools such as Microsoft Teams or Zoom, there were fears of contact that I reduced through short training sessions.

Courage, personal responsibility and self-organization are particularly important under the given circumstances. To promote these qualities, each team member needs their own individual dose of support.

Jean: What are your insights based on past experience?

Holger: We humans are capable of more than we ever thought. On the other hand, our personal limits are now becoming less relentless. So there is a lot to do for agile coaches ...

 

Experience report

Echometer in distributed teams

Jean: We come to the Echometer experience report. How exactly does Echometer help you in remote collaboration with teams?

Holger: Echometer provides me with the common thread for the retrospective without pushing myself into the foreground as a tool. By preselecting open and closed questions, I can give the retrospective a thematic framework. In addition, all team members who took part in the survey are prepared for the retrospective. The organizational questions are a good medium and long-term mood barometer. And the measures jointly developed in the retrospective have finally found an online home.

Jean: What would be the challenges for remote retros without Echometer?

Holger: I would have to make sure that all team members prepare well for the retrospective. Spontaneously discussing and synchronizing the (interim) results online is sometimes difficult. If all participants are familiar with the questions beforehand, the discussions will be more targeted. This harbors the danger that essential topics that are not covered by the prepared questions will be left behind. I write down such topics with the help of the Echometer note function. Depending on the urgency of the topic, I open the space for discussion of this topic or take it with me as a candidate for the subsequent retrospective.

The extensive catalog of questions with its categories helps me to give the retrospective a thematic framework. This reduces the risk of ignoring essential aspects for teamwork.

Without Echometer, I would have to juggle several tools to moderate the discussion, record interim results, derive measures from them and follow them up.

Sequence of the retros with Echometer

Jean: How do the remote retros work with Echometer?

Holger: Structured. I like that because I am a structured person. I have the feeling that the teams also benefit from the clear framework that Echometer creates. Nevertheless, the teams can discuss openly and in all directions. As a moderator, I always see how far we have progressed in the retrospective, and I have an eye on the clock - that helps with time management. Incidentally, I don't have the feeling that online retrospectives have to be longer than on-site retrospectives.

Jean: What else would you like to accommodate?

Holger: I am glad to have got to know Echometer. I am now successfully using the tool in another customer project. The Echometer team is helpful and open to new ideas that can be implemented quickly. This is how “Digital Agile Coaching” is fun. Thank you!

That's it - we hope this report was informative and has some exciting food for thought!

If you are also interested in testing Echometer, take the opportunity with one free demo account to start!

PS: You are already using Echometer and would also like to provide an experience report? Then please contact Jean 🙂

Our interview partner

Holger Koschek

Holger Koschek

Agile Coach | Homepage

To the point

More articles

Want to get started?

Test team retros with Echometer for free & drive agile work in your organization.

holger koschek agile coach 2

Erfahrungsbericht – Remote Agile Coaching mit Holger

Auf linkedin teilen
Auf twitter teilen
Auf facebook teilen
Auf email teilen

Erfahrungsbericht – Das Format

Wie wird Echometer eigentlich in der Praxis eingesetzt? Und von wem? Diese Fragen wollen wir in einer Reihe von Echometer-Erfahrungsberichten beantworten. Dazu interviewen wir für dich einige unserer Nutzer.

Steigen wir gleich mit dem Echometer-Erfahrungsbericht von Holger Koschek ein. Holger ist Agile Coach und nutzt Echometer unter anderem bei seinem Kunden Frontastic – eine „Remote Native Company“.

 

Der Interviewpartner

Jean: Holger, wir freuen uns, dass Du bei diesem Format dabei bist! Stell dich gerne einmal für unsere Leser vor.

Holger: Hallo! Ich bin Holger Koschek. Als freiberuflicher Berater, Trainer und Coach arbeite ich mit Menschen in unterschiedlichsten Rollen daran, deren Projekte und Organisationen voranzubringen. Fortschritt ist mein erklärtes Ziel, denn nur wer voranschreitet kann etwas verändern. Meine agile Grundhaltung hilft mir, die geeigneten Ansatzpunkte für Veränderung zu finden. Die Lösung heißt deswegen aber nicht automatisch Agil, Scrum oder Kanban.

Oft begleite ich Unternehmen, die ihr Zusammenarbeitsmodell überdenken und überarbeiten wollen, um ihren Wertbeitrag für die Kunden zu steigern. Auf diesem Weg habe ich Thomas Gottheil kennengelernt. Anfang des Jahres hat Thomas mich gebeten, sein neues Unternehmen Frontastic als Agile Coach zu unterstützen. Frontastic ist eine „remote-native company“: Alle KollegInnen arbeiten über ganz Europa verteilt im Home Office. Unter normalen Umständen treffen sie sich aber mindestens einmal im Quartal persönlich, um die soziale Bindung zu stärken.

 

Erfahrungen mit agilem Arbeiten

Jean: Wie lange spielt für dich agiles Arbeiten schon eine Rolle?

Holger: „Offiziell“ seit 2008 – da wurde ich zum Certified Scrum Master ernannt. Ich habe auch zuvor interdisziplinär, fokussiert und priorisiert gearbeitet. Für mich bedeutet agiles Arbeiten mehr als die zielgerichtete Anwendung agiler Methoden. Es ist eine Denk- und Arbeitsweise, die Dynamik als Normalfall akzeptiert und durch einen guten Mix aus Struktur, Flexibilität und Disziplin dafür sorgt, dass ich in solch dynamischen Lagen handlungsfähig bleibe.

Jean: Und mit welchen Teams arbeitest du genau zusammen?

Holger: Die Teams, mit denen ich gearbeitet habe und aktuell arbeite, könnten unterschiedlicher gar nicht sein: von Konzern bis Startup, von Management bis Sachbearbeitung, von Softwareprodukt bis Geschäftsmodell, von gemeinsamen Projekträumen bis weit verteilt im Home Office, von agilen Einsteigern bis alten Hasen, von Flugzeugwartung bis Verlag.

Bei allen Unterschieden gibt es aber mindestens zwei wesentliche Gemeinsamkeiten: Die Teams schätzen ausnahmslos das interdisziplinäre Arbeiten. Und sie sind es gewohnt, im Rahmen von Retrospektiven ihre Arbeitsweisen zu hinterfragen und gegebenenfalls anzupassen.

Aktuell arbeite ich parallel für mehrere Kunden in unterschiedlicher Intensität als externer Agile Coach.

 

Remote arbeiten als Agile Coach während Corona

Jean: Was hat sich durch Corona für deine Arbeit als Agile Coach geändert?

Holger: Erstaunlicherweise nicht viel. Meine Teams haben es geschafft, ihre Zusammenarbeit sehr schnell von „vor Ort“ auf „Remote“ umzustellen. Bei Frontastic war eine Anpassung der Arbeitsweise gar nicht erforderlich, da das Unternehmen wie gesagt „remote-native“ arbeitet.

Ich war zu Beginn skeptisch, ob ich meine Rolle auch dann gut ausfüllen kann, wenn ich keinen direkten Kontakt zu den Menschen habe. Die Skepsis ist mittlerweile verflogen. Obwohl ich einige Frontastic-KollegInnen noch nie persönlich getroffen habe, ist eine vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit möglich. Das liegt vor allem am wertschätzenden Umgang miteinander, aber auch an den gemeinsamen Zielen.

Jean: Wie hast du anfangs auf die neuen Umstände reagiert? Was hast du dir vorgenommen?

Holger: Mir war schnell klar, dass wir noch mehr Sorgfalt auf die Zusammenarbeit verwenden müssen. So entstand bei einem meiner Kunden eine Sammlung von Prinzipien und Tipps für Online-Meetings. Da ich nicht mehr direkt sehen kann, wer für ein spontanes Gespräch verfügbar ist, müssen die elektronischen Kalender und der Status in den verschiedenen Kommunikationswerkzeugen gut gepflegt sein. Anstatt Termine in langen Mail-Threads abzustimmen, ist es beispielsweise effizienter, die Funktion „Neuen Termin vorschlagen“ des elektronischen Kalenders zu nutzen. Nicht alle Teammitglieder kannten diese Funktion. Bei der Nutzung von Werkzeugen wie Microsoft Teams oder Zoom gab es Berührungsängste, die ich durch Kurztrainings abgebaut habe.

Mut, Eigenverantwortung und Selbstorganisation sind gerade unter den gegebenen Umständen besonders wichtig. Um diese Eigenschaften zu fördern, braucht jedes Teammitglied seine ganz individuelle Dosis an Unterstützung.

Jean: Was sind jetzt deine Erkenntnisse basierend auf den bisherigen Erfahrungen?

Holger: Wir Menschen sind zu mehr fähig, als wir je gedacht haben. Auf der anderen Seite werden unsere persönlichen Grenzen jetzt schonungsloser sichtbar. Für Agile Coaches gibt es demnach viel zu tun …

Erfahrungsbericht

Echometer in verteilten Teams

Jean: Kommen wir zum Echometer-Erfahrungsbericht. Wie genau hilft dir Echometer in der Remote Zusammenarbeit mit Teams?

Holger: Echometer liefert mir den roten Faden für die Retrospektive, ohne sich dabei als Werkzeug in den Vordergrund zu drängen. Durch die Vorauswahl von offenen und geschlossenen Fragen kann ich der Retrospektive einen thematischen Rahmen geben. Außerdem gehen alle Teammitglieder, die an der Umfrage teilgenommen haben, vorbereitet in die Retrospektive. Die Organisationsfragen eignen sich gut als mittel- und langfristiges Stimmungsbarometer. Und die gemeinsam in der Retrospektive erarbeiteten Maßnahmen haben endlich eine Online-Heimat gefunden.

Jean: Was wären die Herausforderungen bei Remote Retros ohne Echometer?

Holger: Ich müsste selber dafür sorgen, dass sich alle Teammitglieder gut auf die Retrospektive vorbereiten. Das spontane Diskutieren und synchrone Nachhalten der (Zwischen-)Ergebnisse ist online mitunter schwierig. Wenn allen Teilnehmern die Fragen im Vorfeld bekannt sind, sind die Diskussionen zielgerichteter. Das birgt die Gefahr, dass wesentliche Themen, die nicht durch die vorbereiteten Fragen abgedeckt sind, auf der Strecke bleiben. Ich notiere solche Themen für alle sichtbar mit Hilfe der Notizfunktion von Echometer. Abhängig von der Dringlichkeit des Themas öffne ich den Raum für die Diskussion dieses Themas oder nehme es als Kandidat für die nachfolgende Retrospektive mit.

Der umfangreiche Fragenkatalog mit seinen Kategorien hilft mir, der Retrospektive einen thematischen Rahmen zu geben. Das reduziert die Gefahr, wesentliche Aspekte für die Zusammenarbeit in Teams unberücksichtigt zu lassen.

Ohne Echometer müsste ich mit mehreren Werkzeugen jonglieren, um die Diskussion zu moderieren, Zwischenergebnisse festzuhalten, Maßnahmen daraus abzuleiten und diese nachzuhalten.

Ablauf der Retros mit Echometer

Jean: Wie laufen die Remote Retros mit Echometer?

Holger: Strukturiert. Mir gefällt das, weil ich ein strukturierter Mensch bin. Ich habe das Gefühl, dass auch die Teams von dem klaren Rahmen profitieren, den Echometer schafft. Trotzdem können die Teams offen und in alle Richtungen diskutieren. Als Moderator sehe ich jederzeit, wie weit wir in der Retrospektive fortgeschritten sind, und ich habe die Uhr im Blick – das hilft beim Zeitmanagement. Ich habe übrigens nicht das Gefühl, dass Online-Retrospektiven länger sein müssen als Vor-Ort-Retrospektiven.

Jean: Was möchtest du sonst noch gerne unterbringen?

Holger: Ich bin froh, Echometer kennengelernt zu haben. Mittlerweile nutze ich das Werkzeug erfolgreich in einem weiteren Kundenprojekt. Das Echometer-Team ist hilfsbereit und offen für neue Ideen, die schnell umgesetzt werden. So macht das „Digital Agile Coaching“ Spaß. Danke!

Die Ergebnisse

  • Remote Retrospektiven einfach vor- und nachbereiten
  • Teams interaktiv in Retrospektiven mit einbeziehen
  • Fortlaufende Sichtbarkeit des Wohlbefindens der Teams
  • Nichts geht verloren dank des fortlaufenden Maßnahmentrackings

Das war’s auch schon – wir hoffen dieser Erfahrungsbericht war aufschlussreich und hat einige spannende Denkanstöße für dich!

Falls du auch Interesse hast, Echometer zu testen, nutze die Gelegenheit, mit einem kostenlosen Demo Account zu starten!

PS: Du nutzt Echometer bereits und möchtest auch einen Erfahrungsbericht bereitstellen? Dann melde dich gerne bei Jean 🙂

Unser Interviewpartner

Holger Koschek

Holger Koschek

Agile Coach | Homepage

Auf den Punkt

Weitere Artikel

Jetzt selber loslegen?

Team-Retros mit Echometer kostenlos testen & agiles Arbeiten in deiner Organisation vorantreiben.