Our blog articles are translated to English by machine and may not always be accurate - sorry for that.

If you understand German, we recommend to switch to the German version.

meeting-picture

The agile paradox: flexibility through structure - Part 1: An agile meeting structure

Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on email

At first glance, agility sometimes seems contradictory. Apparently, a structure is supposed to provide more flexibility. In this series of articles I show you examples of this agile paradox and how it fits in the end.

A meeting now?

When one speaks of agility, it often means that one should critically question regular meetings and, if necessary, delete them. At the same time, the introduction of agile methods adds new meetings every two weeks: regular backlog refinements, reviews and retrospectives. How does that fit together?

The worry seems justified at first, because if you suddenly formulate goals every 2 weeks that need to be achieved, you will probably invest more time with this planning than if you only proceed on a quarterly basis and roughly determine which topics you want to work on.

The framework for fast learning

The advantage of this faster rhythm is that teams can enter a feedback loop with the (internal or external) customer every two weeks to find out whether the customer benefit actually occurs. This early customer feedback on the prototype created in the two weeks enables the newly learned to be taken into account in the subsequent sprint.

The regular meetings within the framework of the sprint cycles create the opportunity to learn quickly and open up the opportunity to correct the course regularly if the goals obviously cannot be achieved. The added value of this learning speed usually outweighs the time invested for the agile meeting structure.

Conclusion

Long-term meeting cycles are a major threat to quick learning and agile work. The meetings created through agile work take time, but they provide the necessary space to create significantly faster learning and thus better long-term customer benefits.

To the point

More articles

Want to get started?

Test team retros with Echometer for free & drive agile work in your organization.

Agilität scheint manchmal auf den ersten Blick widersprüchlich. Scheinbar soll eine Struktur für mehr Flexibilität sorgen. In dieser Reihe von Artikeln zeige ich euch Beispiele für dieses agile Paradoxon und wie es am Ende doch zusammenpasst.

Jetzt doch ein Meeting?

Wenn man von Agilität spricht, heißt es nicht selten, dass man regelmäßige Meetings kritisch hinterfragen und ggf. streichen sollte. Gleichzeitig kommen durch die Einführung von agilen Methoden neue Meetings im zweiwöchigen Rhythmus dazu: Regelmäßige Backlog Refinements, Reviews und Retrospektiven. Wie passt das zusammen?

Die Sorge scheint erstmal berechtigt, denn wer auf einmal alle 2 Wochen kurzfristig Ziele formuliert, die es zu erreichen gilt, wird mit dieser Planung voraussichtlich mehr Zeit investieren, als wenn man nur quartalsweise vorgeht und grob festlegt an welchen Themen man arbeiten möchte.

Der Rahmen für schnelles Lernen

Der Vorteil dieses schnelleren Rhythmusses ist, dass Teams alle zwei Wochen in eine Feedbackschleife mit dem (internen oder externen) Kunden treten können, um herauszufinden, ob der Kundennutzen tatsächlich eintritt. Dieses frühe Kundenfeedback zum in den zwei Wochen erstellten Prototypen ermöglicht es, das neu Gelernte bereits in dem darauffolgenden Sprint berücksichtigen zu können.

Die regelmäßigen Meetings im Rahmen der Sprintzyklen schaffen die Möglichkeit schnell zu lernen und eröffnen die Chance, den Kurs regelmäßig zu korrigieren, wenn sich die Ziele offenbar nicht erreichen lassen. Der Mehrwert dieser Lerngeschwindigkeit überwiegt in der Regel den zeitlichen Invest für die mit agile einhergehende Meetingsstruktur.

Fazit

Langfristige Meetingzyklen sind eine große Bedrohung für schnelles Lernen und agiles Arbeiten. Die durch agiles Arbeiten geschaffenen Meetings nehmen zwar Zeit in Anspruch, sorgen aber für den nötigen Raum, um deutlich schnelleres Lernen und damit langfristig besseren Kundennutzen zu schaffen.

Kategorien: Uncategorized

Newsletter abonnieren