Our blog articles are translated to English by machine and may not always be accurate - sorry for that.

If you understand German, we recommend to switch to the German version.

mindset

The psychological perspective on the (agile) mindset (Mindset: part 1/5)

Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on email

Not only Scrum Masters and agile coaches, but also executives and managing directors keep telling us the same thing: “People simply lack the right mindset.” And how should you change a mindset? Well. We tell you.

It is (partly) not an easy way, but it is doable. Let's start with what we mean by the right mindset or the “agile mindset”.

Mindset - what is that?

For the sake of simplicity, we will use the Stanford professor's definition of mindset below Carol Dweck. She has made an established classification that can also be used as a basis for the agile mindset.

Dweck (2006) differentiates between the fixed and growth mindset. People who tend to have a fixed mindset assume that their creativity, intelligence and talent are fixed and unchangeable. The logical consequence of this attitude: It is not worth trying. Mistakes are bad and you make them because you are simply not capable. Constructive criticism is useless. And so on.

On the other hand, people with a growth mindset believe in the possibility of constant personal development (Dweck, 2006). This leads to a transformation of the meaning of “effort” and “difficulty” - both are only part of the way. The growth mindset perceives defeats as information about what to do differently - and not as a diagnosis of low talent or the like. The graphic (based on the visualization of Nigel Holmes) brings the difference of the mind sets to the point again and shows the proximity to the agile context.

However, humans are not either A or B. There is a continuum between fixed and growth mindset, in which some tend towards fixed and others towards growth mindset (Burnette et al., 2013). Likewise, it can vary between areas - I can have a fixed mindset about my creativity, but a growth mindset about dealing with difficult customers (Dweck, 1999).

So we now know how to scientifically classify an agile mindset. But is it worth striving for the growth mindset at all? We treat the research on this, which is directly related to your workplace in the next article, But I can anticipate the answer: definitely.

If you are interested in how you can develop an agile mindset as a team, check out our Page on this topic past.

References

Burnette, JL, O & #8217; Boyle, EH, VanEpps, EM, Pollack, JM & Finkel, EJ (2013). Mind-sets matter: A meta-analytic review of implicit theories and self-regulation. Psychological Bulletin, 139(3), 655-701.

Dweck, CS (1999). Essays in social psychology. Self-theories: Their role in motivation, personality, and development. New York, NY, US: Psychology Press.

Dweck, CS (2006). Mindset: The new psychology of success. New York: Random House.


To the point

More articles

Want to get started?

Test team retros with Echometer for free & drive agile work in your organization.

Nicht nur Scrum MasterInnen und agile Coaches, auch Führungskräfte und GeschäftsführerInnen erzählen uns immer wieder das Gleiche: “Den Leuten fehlt einfach das richtige Mindset.” Und wie soll man schon ein Mindset ändern? Naja. Wir sagen es euch.

Es ist (teilweise) kein einfacher Weg, aber er ist machbar. Fangen wir erstmal damit an, was wir überhaupt unter dem richtigen Mindset oder dem “agilen Mindset” verstehen.

Mindset – was ist das?

Der Einfachheit halber bedienen wir uns im Folgenden für die Definition von Mindset bei der Stanford Professorin Carol Dweck. Sie hat eine etablierte Einteilung vorgenommen, die als Grundlage auch für das agile Mindset genutzt werden kann.

Dweck (2006) unterscheidet zwischen dem Fixed und Growth Mindset. Menschen, die eher ein Fixed Mindset haben, gehen davon aus, dass ihre Kreativität, Intelligenz und ihr Talent fixiert sind, also unveränderbar. Die logische Konsequenz dieser Einstellung: Es lohnt sich nicht, sich anzustrengen. Fehler sind schlecht und man macht sie, weil man es nicht kann. Konstruktive Kritik ist nutzlos. Und so weiter.

Menschen mit einem Growth Mindset dagegen glauben an die Möglichkeit der ständigen persönlichen Weiterentwicklung (Dweck, 2006). Das führt zu einer Transformation der Bedeutung von “Anstrengung” und “Schwierigkeit” – beides ist nur Teil des Weges. Das Growth Mindset nimmt Niederlagen als Informationen darüber wahr, was man anders machen müsste – und nicht als Diagnose von geringem Talent o.ä.. Die Grafik (basierend auf der Visualisierung von Nigel Holmes) bringt den Unterschied der Mindsets nochmal auf den Punkt und zeigt die Nähe zum agilen Kontext.

Menschen sind hierbei allerdings nicht entweder A oder B. Zwischen Fixed und Growth Mindset besteht ein Kontinuum, in dem manche eher in Richtung Fixed und andere in Richtung Growth Mindset tendieren (Burnette et al., 2013). Ebenso kann es zwischen Bereichen variieren – ich kann ein Fixed Mindset bezüglich meiner Kreativität haben, aber ein Growth Mindset über meinen Umgang mit schwierigen Kunden (Dweck, 1999).

Wir wissen jetzt also, wie man ein agiles Mindset wissenschaftlich einordnen kann. Aber lohnt es sich überhaupt, nach dem Growth Mindset zu streben? Die Forschung hierzu, die direkt mit eurem Arbeitsplatz zu tun hat, behandeln wir im nächsten Artikel. Die Antwort kann ich aber ja schonmal vorwegnehmen: definitiv.

Wenn ihr euch dafür interessiert, wie ihr als Team ein agiles Mindset entwickeln könnt, schaut auf unserer Seite zu diesem Thema vorbei.

Quellen

Burnette, J. L., O’Boyle, E. H., VanEpps, E. M., Pollack, J. M. & Finkel, E. J. (2013). Mind-sets matter: A meta-analytic review of implicit theories and self-regulation. Psychological Bulletin, 139(3), 655-701.

Dweck, C. S. (1999). Essays in social psychology. Self-theories: Their role in motivation, personality, and development. New York, NY, US: Psychology Press.

Dweck, C. S. (2006). Mindset: The new psychology of success. New York: Random House.


Kategorien: Uncategorized

Newsletter abonnieren